What our clients say

All our clients are invited to post a review so you can get an independent view of the holiday and our services.


Rating: 4.9/5 (from the most recent 55 reviews)

50

5

0

0

0


Bob Graham Round, Lake District. October 2019 by Jane and Andrew from Seattle, USA

Challenging but rewarding.

"The trip organization and materials provided by Wandering Aengus Treks were excellent. Even though we know the Lake District quite well, we really appreciated having all the preparation taken care of for us. This was a self-guided tour, but due to the adverse weather and ground conditions, Pete took the time to come and meet us on our first evening to advise us about a detour we would need to make on our first day. We found the route cards and trip notes invaluable (and the fact they were laminated was much appreciated in the rain!). The daily baggage transfers went without a hitch and we enjoyed all the places we stayed. Even though the conditions meant that we couldn't include every single one of the 42 peaks that make up the Bob Graham, we felt more than satisfied with our incredible tour of the Lakes - all achieved on our own two feet! We certainly intend to book through Wandering Aengus again in the future, as their local knowledge and personal service sets them apart from other companies"


Hadrian's Wall. October 2019 by E. Collins from USA

It did not disappoint.

"Wandering Aengus provided good pre-trip communications. They provided excellent self guided info. They offered, what proved to an excellent extension to trip going to Hexham and Corbridge. Accommodations were uniformly good to excellent. Food in those accommodations was excellent"


Westmorland Way. September 2019 by Jaap from Eindhoven NL

Great walking experience in Westmorland in September.

"I returned from my walking holiday in Westmorland. It was all wel organized, and no complaints from my side. Lodging and luggage transport was perfect and well arranged. 2 out of 7 days with rain, not too bad for September. Unfortunately some navigational errors forced me to make some extra miles, so tired feet on these days All in all I had a good time, and I certainly recommend you when asked. Next year I will plan a new trip and I am already looking in your list of your offers."


Cumbria Coastal Way. September 2019 by Richard from Wray

Southern Section of the CCW.

"All together a great experience, where map reading skills were essential as there are very few way markers. The mixture of beach, woodland and fell walking made the walk one of my favorites. The published guide book is a tad out of date, but with the support of the appropriate OS navigation was good. Our accommodation was of good quality and the welcome we received was mostly good. If you choose Ulverston as one of your stops you need to be aware that the town is 2.5k away from the path, which on a big day was pushing it. It is also worth noting that on the Grange to Ulverston day there was a large section of the verge of the A595 that needs to be walked, which was not very pleasant, especially as you had to step on the carriageway where the undergrowth spread across the verge and in our case, was pouring down. Influence needs to be put on the appropriate authority to make a concessionary path diversion for this section. Have now completed North & South sections of the CCW, both organised by Wandering Aengus and I can not fault them."


Ravenber Way. August 2019 by Bill G from Detroit Mi

Great service and accommodations

"They were great. Lovely trip great accommodations. Excellent info pack"


Westmorland Way. August 2019 by Bjørg & Stein from Norway

We will be back!

"We are very pleased with our Westmorland Way trek; from Appleby to Arnside. Accomodations were very nice, and the trek was very well organised. We will be back!"


Tour of the Lake District. August 2019 by Louise from Kelowna BC, Canada

Wet but mostly wonderful!

"Despite England’s hot dry summer, The Lake District is an intermittently wet and dry location for hiking. Fog appears on mountain passes and contributes to uncertain footing on both ascents and descents. Go on these beautiful hikes. Take good, water impermeable gear and good hiking boots with gaiters if you want to stay dry while up high and on very squishy descents. Be warm, it can get quite windy at the top. The views are breathtaking and I would suggest you will have a different walking experience than most you would experience in Canada. In the Lake District there is not a native who does not care about your comfort and well being; gracious hospitality in abundance."


Dales Way. July 2019 by Paul from Sheffield

Loved the Dales Way with wonderful scenery.

"We were 6 adults and a dog walking the Dalesway over 8 days. Thoroughly enjoyed by all. Great organisation, wonderful experienceand some intresting characters along the way. I would recommend it as a long distance walk and for Wandering Aengus organisation."


Pennine Journey. June 2019 by Nicky & Geoff from Cumbria

The perfect holiday with a wonderfully varied route, a good level of accommodation and a very comprehensive information pack.

"A hugely enjoyable experience. Completed the first 14 stages of Wainwright's Pennine Journey during the last two weeks of June and luckily only needed waterproofs for two very short spells of rain. There were some long days so we were very appreciative of the very good standard of accommodation and the luggage transfers were faultless. Would definitely recommend."


Keswick and Derwentwater. June 2019 by Greg from London

Great! Super convenient. Great flexibility. Fantastic location and hiking.

"Great custom 3-day, 2-night trip to Keswick and the Derwentwater. Super helpful route/guide material, great accommodations and transfer, and great flexibility when our plans changed!"


Dales Way. June 2019 by Roy Barton from Isle of Wight

Well organised with excellent documentation.

"The organisation of our walk along the Dales Way was first class. The accommodation at each stopping point was very comfortable and the distances between each hotel/B & B were very suitable for the pace we wanted to walk. The scenery was majestic but quite varied along the way. We would thoroughly recommend using Wandering Aengus on the basis of our experience!"


Wainwright Memorial Walk. June 2019 by Cherry & Sarah from South West England

Wainwright's Memorial Walk was difficult to complete in the poor weather but we still had a great time.

"Our fourth long distance walk and the first organised by Wandering Aengus and will not be the last. Far by far the best for accommodation, information and support. Consistently high standard of accommodation, comprehensive support information including alternative routes, evening meal options and town details including bus timetables. Excellent!"


Hadrian's Wall. June 2019 by Ing A from Norway

Better than expected.

"We were 6 adults who walked Hadrians Wall in the middle of June. The hotels/pubs along our route were all good, nice people and good food. The little guide book and provided maps were very good, and luggage transfer worked without a hitch. All in all we had a very nice walk in fairly poor weather but there's not much anyone can do about that."


Secret Lake District. June 2019 by Steve from Northeast Iowa, USA

My wife and I had a terrific time hiking in a less-traveled part of the Lake District!

"My wife and I really enjoyed this less-traveled corner of the Lake District. We did daily hikes up into the fells with terrific views over the Eden Valley, the interior fells of the Lake District, and far out across the Solway Firth and on to Scotland. And also hiked through some of the lower countryside, too, meeting people and learning about agriculture and the history of the area. We really enjoyed staying in two places rather than moving each day. By staying just a little longer in one spot we gained a sense of the people, the environment, the agricultural economy of this part of the rural UK. Pete and Karen were efficient and thorough with their pre-trip questions and preparations. The lodgings Karen and Pete arranged were delightful and the lodging owners very helpful. Pete's notes for the hikes were clear and precise, containing a great blend of practical navigation with just the right amount of history and background so we could delve deeper into learning about the area, either before or after a hike. We highly recommend Wandering Aengus."


Tour of the Lake District. June 2019 by jmsfree from California

Adventurous.

"I nearly died (my mistake and long story) and my wife fell and damaged her knee half-way, ironically as we were walking on pavement heading into Keswick. So we took the bus between towns for the last half of the trip. The locals lamented that the rains were much heavier than they should have been for late May, early June. So more adventure than we thought but we had a great time. By the way -- we visited NHS clinics twice about the knee. What a treat! Caring professionals and, astounding to an American, not one question about how we were going to pay for it. Wandering Aengus was terrific from beginning to end. Clear, responsive communications, excellent documents for navigating all aspects of the trip. Restaurant recommendations were good and all the places we stayed were very nice. Our luggage, as promised, was promptly moved from one town to the next. My wife and I happily recommend. "


Dales Way. June 2019 by Naaman and Tali from Israel

Six days of walking in gorgeous landscapes.

"Lush hills, streams, viaducts, picturesque villages, remote farms, and mansions that look like they were taken from a BBC series following Jane Austen's book. Real English pubs, local beer, and loads of sheep. Sleeping in small, but definitely satisfying - hostels, hot water and meals. The organization was flawless, with no mishaps: lodging arrangements, maps and information, the transfer of equipment, etc. In conclusion - recommended!"


Pennine Way. May 2019 by Doug and Ruth from Macclesfield

Brilliant experience all round, made possible by Wandering Aengus.

"Our first such self-guided trek in the UK, and it proved a brilliant experience. Using WA to deal with the nightmare of finding and booking accommodation was a great choice. They did this super-efficiently, referring back to us with the occasional query, leaving us to concentrate on the walking. Baggage transfer also removed the grind of carrying heavy packs on what is already a demanding walk. Many thanks Karen and Pete - we had a great time."


Wainwright Memorial Walk. May 2019 by Graeme from Victoria, Australia

Great Route.

"Prompt responses to any queries I had before hand and arrangements went without a hitch during the trip. Clear route detail with valuable alternate option info. Super accommodation, great locations, very friendly, breakfasts were always very good, packed lunches worked well and diner on site or next door on most occassions. Baggage arrived a few minutes after me in Kewsick, otherwise always waiting for me. Great to use additional bag storage arrangement."


Dales High Way. May 2019 by Philip and Anne Pope from Gloucestershire

An excellent walk with great scenary the whole way and good standard of Accommodation.

"Well organised and everything was very well presented. There were, however, some issues with the luggage transfers and some of the details relating to packed lunches were out of date."

Reply from Wandering Aengus:Thank you for your review. We're pleased you had such a good trip and sorry that you were inconvenienced on one of the days by the 'Tour of Yorkshire' road closures.


Pennine Way. April-May 2019 by Neil from Oxford

Up and down on the trail, but not off it!

"I spent three weeks over Easter walking the whole of the Pennine Way, from Edale through to Kirk Yetholm, which was my first trip with WA. What stood out over the trip was the personal touch that WA could provide, and the way that they responded to a few accommodation and transfer challenges (the causes of which were all out of their hands) over the first week. The accommodation was excellent throughout the trip - and after the first day, they even arranged for the rain to stay away. Thank you Pete and Karen!"


Great Gable & Catbells. May 2019 by Martin Slater from Blackburn

Fantastic accommodation and great walking with an interesting and knowledgeable guide.

"From start to finish our Wandering Aengus holiday was fantastic. Our accommodation in Keswick was lovely and Pete led a great walk up Great Gable via Base Brown and Green Gable, finished off with a well deserved pint! Pete was a very knowledgeable guide and good company. I should also mention Karen's packed lunch which more than sustained us for the trek! The trip also included a useful information pack including clear directions for a self-guided walk up Catbells (another fab lunch provided!). Overall a great weekend Wainwright bagging and we wouldnâ t hesitate to recommend Wandering Aengus for a walking adventure."


Hadrian's Wall. September 2018 by Sue from Bedford

We had a very enjoyable five days walking.

"You were very helpful with the change in booking dates and the information and maps were great - thank you for going the extra mile!"


Dales High Way. September 2018 by John from Buxton

No surprises - ‘It did what it said on the tin’.

"Thanks again for the as usual excellent service."


Wainwright's Pennine Journey West. September 2018 by Dudley from Branston

Fully comprehensive service.

"Nice walks, but I prefered the eastern side. Route information excellent, everything you needed and more."


Cumbria Coastal Way Northern Section. August 2018 by Richard T from Lancashire

Great walk, tested our navigation skills

"Interesting walk for those with a pioneer attitude. Guide book a tad out of date and little or no sign postings for this trek. Regardless a great challenge and look forward to completing the Southern section."


Hike Scafell Pike & Catbells. August 2018 by Antonio

I think the experience was fantastic

"We got fantastically lucky with the weather on the first day up Scafell Pike! Apart from that the transitions were seamless and the guide and maps were very easy to follow."


Pennine Way. June 2018 by Marshall from Warren, RI, USA

Wonderful but hot!

"I have worked with other firms that arrange self-guided trips and they were competent and professional. But Wandering Aengus is head and shoulders above the rest. I wound up requesting several changes to a bespoke trip and WAT responded cheerfully and helpfully and never missed a beat. Early on, I noted that a train journey from Penrith to London looked pricey at 106 pounds. When those tickets went briefly on sale for 30 pounds, WAT notified me so that my wife and I were able to save 152 pounds in train travel. Next time we walk anywhere that WAT covers, WAT is going to be our first choice. In addition to all that, their charges were a bit less than their competitors. Tip top service for less money! From what I have seen, you cannot go wrong with WAT."


Cumbria Way. July 2018 by Alex from Cambridge

Everything was very efficient.

"We had a great week helped by good weather and walked in shorts and teeshirts the whole week. Although we knew the Lakes it was still a lovely route and we thoroughly enjoyed the Cumbria Way."


Hadrian's Wall. July 2018 by Carlos Enseñat from Mallorca, Spain

Formidable

"We are a family with 3 kids, 17, 15 and 13 years. We have had the best holiday ... thanks very much."


Scafell Pike and Catbells. June 2018 by Adam

"The organisation, the information and the whole weekend exceeded expectations. We all had an amazing hiking experience. Thank you."


Coast to Coast. May 2018 by Jon & David from Ashton on Mersey

Quite simply, we just had a great time.

"The good weather certainly helped, but the accommodation was much better than I expected. I walked the Ridgeway with Load Off Your Back last year and thought that the standard of accommodation was much higher with you."


Hadrian's Wall. May 2018 by Peter from Venus Bay, Australia

I really enjoyed the experience and felt well cared for in terms of organisation and in the accommodation along the way

"I found my info kit and its practical presentation really well thought out and useful. I noted other walkers from time to time with large laminated maps suspended from a cord around the neck, blowing around like kites in a gale, which seemed absurd. Self-garrotting you might say! Your route information and guidance to accommodation et al. was excellent. And I really enjoyed reading the book after each day’s walk, as it then had context and made much more sense."


Dales Way. May 2018 by 'Dales Wayers' from Orlando, USA

From email interactions with you both before the trip, to clear route info and instructions, to excellent accommodations, all was top notch

"Of the six in our group (three siblings and their spouses), all are very experienced travellers but with different tastes and travel styles, ranging from hostels to five star hotels. Your arrangements worked for all of us. The little laminated maps were great. I had downloaded OS maps to my phone before the trip, and we sometimes referred to them to confirm we were on route."


Heart of the Lakes. May 2018 by Christine from Alexandria, Scotland

Wonderful holiday and weather and accommodation excellent

"The Lake District is stunning and we saw it at its best in glorious sunshine"


Lake District North. April 2018 by Sebastian from Queensland, Australia

The planning and preparation via email was fantastic and I found that all my needs were met during the actual hike and I had a very enjoyable time

"Originally I was going to self-book my trek, but I’m glad I went through Wandering Aengus as you guys have the local knowledge, expertise and connections that made my trek stress-free and very enjoyable. The routes were interesting and varied, the accommodation of a high standard, and the ease of having my bags transferred was a god send. Hopefully I will come back soon and do another trekking holiday with you guys"


Lake District North. October 2017 by Gerard & Marie from France

Wonderful & Fabulous trip

"The organisation and planning of the trip are absolutely a dream; nothing to fault. The accommodations are perfect, the people are wonderful. it has been an absolute pleasure. The views are awesome as a bonus :) Great work; thank you very much to allow us making such wonderful memories"


Hadrian's Wall. September 2017 by Tim from Washington DC, USA

My wife and I planned for three years to take our entire family (8 adults and an infant) on this trip to celebrate our 60th birthdays and we could not be more pleased with experience and the care that Wandering Aengus took to ensure a memorable holiday.

"Pete and Karen were amazing through the entire process. Everything was made clear and they were always available to answer our questions. We were organizing four couples from three cities in the United States, with the added complication of having an infant along on the trip. Everything went without a hitch and we all had a wonderful experience. From accommodations to excellent recommendations on places to have dinner, Wandering Aengus could not have been more helpful."


Lake District North. September 2017 by Mark from Australia

We did the NE Lake District walk over four days. Two easy days along lakes and two harder days over the hills.

"Beautiful part of the world and the organisation was excellent. Nice hotels and B&Bs, thanks for making it a memorable trip."


Coast to Coast. September 2017 by D Field from Oregon, USA

Beautifully put together with lots of helpful information.

"Beyond my expectations as far as the country and so pleased with how Wandering Aengus set everything up. I do think if I did it again I might make some changes on distances walked but I think you have to know the terrain better to do that."


Dales High Way. September 2017 by Mark from Hinkley

A gem of a walk

"As your website rightly describes it “a gem of a walk” apart from a small distance around Addingham a great walk through varied and beautiful scenery. All accommodation was good and the baggage transfer worked perfectly. As I had never been there before the Howgill Fells were a revelation and a contrast to the more familiar dales."


Laleland Walker. August 2017 by Mariette from Dubai

Wonderful three day stress free walking experience in the Lake District.

"This was our first time hiking in the Lake District. Pete and Karen were able to coordinate a perfect three day hiking ittinerary for us meeting our exact requirements and also including some interesting historical sights as I had requested. The accommodation was wonderful and the walking maps and additional local information was very helpful."


Hadrian's Wall. August 2017 by Jonathan and Ian from Wincle Cheshire and Victoria BC, Canada

Excellent walk with some more gruelling bits but all together a very rewarding experience with stunning scenery.

"Very well organised by WA even down to the weather! We thought the Carlisle to Bowness might have been a disappointment but in fact it was very interesting and included a coffee in the village hall in Beaumont as well as tours of the churches built with Wall stones. If you like a medium length satisfying walk with Roman engineering to marvel at then choose this one, organised by Wandering Aengus of course."


Scafell & Catbells. July 2017 by Amy from London

Fantastic!

"This was a great trip. We stayed in the most beautiful guest house with a super-tasty breakfast. The attention to detail and organisation from Wandering Aengus was excellent. We'll definitely be coming back. Thank you, Amy and Andy"


Pennine Way. July 2017 by Judy from Victoria

We have used Wandering Aengus before and found the attention to detail very reassuring.

"Longer days than anticipated on a couple of days in particular we were finding some of the paths rocky and unstable thus it took longer to complete that section. Eg Cam high road. Views however were worth it!"


Hadrian's Wall walk. July 2017 by Ian from Warton

A great well planned walk despite the weather. Wandering Aengus again.

"No problems throughout the walk, B & B's were very good and bag transfer was excellent. Would use again."


Lake District West. July 2017 by Gavin and Catherine from Calgary, Alberta

Wonderful

"The tour was well thought out and organized by Pete and Karen. The Info packages were excellent. Loved it."


Lake District North. July 2017 by Rich from New Sharon, Maine

My wife and I had a wonderful holiday

"Great accommodations, plenty of route options each day and great customer service. Thanks for everything."


Hadrian's Wall. July 2017 by Sharon from York

A wonderful experience even more enjoyable as we did it with friends from Wales

"Very well planned and organised by Karen and Pete at Wandering Aengus. They made a few changes where needed and nothing was too much trouble. We would definitely use them again in the future and recommend to friends."


Pennine Journey (Settle to Hexham). June 2017 by Marion,Jess,Margaret,Jane from Hitchin

Excellent stress free holiday, everything taken care of by WA

"Wandering Aengus were happy to incorporate an extra couple of days for us, to even out the daily mileage. This enabled us to take our time and really appreciate the stunning countryside."


Pennine Journey. June 2017 by Sue Gordon from Jamaica

Hard, but very enjoyable

"The attention to detailwas impeccable. The laminated accommodation information and maps/directions was exceptional. The standard of accommodation, particularly Westgate Hall and Shepherds Croft was excellent. I would definately recommend Wandering Aengus Treks."


Hadrian's Wall. June 2017 by Deborah, Gail and Roberta from Hawaii

Great accommodations organized by Wandering Aengus

"Fabulous weather and scenery for the whole trip. The maps to accommodations did not seem particularly useful, but we used our phone's gps and everything worked out great. Loved Aydon's Castle--it was worth walking the extra miles."


Wainwright Memorial Walk. June 2017 by Sue from Ireland

Awesome!

"Huge thanks to Wandering Aengus for organising my trip. I will definitely use them again. No problems whatsoever. I had a great walk - just sad its over."


Heart of the Lakes. June 2017 by CJ from Australia

Brilliant experience in a sterling location

"I throroughly enjoyed my trip and had great support from Pete tracking down my bag after another company decided to pick it up as an extra after it had been delivered to my destination. I would easily recommend Wandering Aengus treks to others and wouldn't hesitate to use them again for another trip myself."


Lake District North. June 2017 by Erin from California

Fabulous first time experience with Lake walking

"I am very grateful to Karen and Pete for organizing such a great experience. There was great attention to detail and everything was pretty much perfect, with excellent communication and organization. The hiking was challenging in parts, but extremely rewarding and beautiful. I would definitely use Wandering Aengus again and do hope I can make it back to the lakes again soon."


Hadrian's Wall. May 2017 by Jill from West Midlands

Brilliant.

"So well organised, amazing accommodation, so despite the difficult weather, it was great"


Hadrian's Wall. April 2017 by Jane from Sutton Coldfield

A stress free and thoroughly enjoyable week.

"Everything ran like clockwork. The information provided was excellent and we really enjoyed the interesting variety of accomodation. Many people we spoke to recommended doing the walk West to East, but we enjoyed finishing in Bowness, despite the more limited travel options and unfavourable wind direction!"



Other Comments from Wandering Aengus Treks customers

Hadrian’s Wall. September 2016 by Juliet from Didsbury

“Thanks for your help in providing us with a really enjoyable and memorable holiday. I've already recommended you to someone who may book with you next year.”

Coast to Coast path. September 2016 by Joe & Deirdre from Leigh

“We had a great time though the wind on Kidsty Pike knocked Deirdre over a couple of times and the horizontal rain was too much for our waterproofs. One of the best parts of the holiday was meeting the same people each day/at the end of each day and comparing notes! Karen was most helpful in the preparation and all the supplies were useful.”

Ravenber Way. September 2016 by Charles from Deer Isle, Maine

“The Ravenber Way is not for a first time long distance walker. Over half of the route consists of a knitting together of public footpaths, often through countryside, moor and forest where the track is ill defined or invisible. Of all the walks we have done, this had the least people. Many days on the moors and in forests we saw only 1-2 people all day. The solitude amidst the beauty of the countryside is amazing, considering the walk is in such a populous nation.”

Pennine Way. August 2016 by Mark from Hinkley

“From your almost immediate answer to my initial enquiry WA provided everything I needed to complete my attempt at the Pennine Way Communications with WA was easy and you provided regular updates when any changes occurred.”

Tour of the Lake District. August 2016 by Ann from Windermere, Florida

“What a wonderful trip! You guys did a great job and the hiking was so beautiful, the food excellent and the hotels charming. Great choices!”

Cumbria Way. July 2016 by Sophie & Ruben from Antwerp

"Just a quick note to let you know that Ruben and I were very happy about our trip. We really had a wonderful time! Thank you very much for everything!"

Dales Way. July 2016 by Andrew & Pauline from Epsom

"Great holiday. Your attention to details (laminated accommodation and diversion details) great, the ease of contact, lack of any hassle and total package brilliant. Would both use and recommend your services any time on any walk (with or without dog)"

Pennine Journey. June 2016 by Marion, Jess, Jane and Margaret from Hitchin

"Very efficient from quote to information pack. Thank you for all your assistance during the walk. Will most definitely use you again."

Ravenber Way. June 2016 by Peter & Clare from Westbury

"We have been very impressed with your overall efficiency from the very beginning, in particular with your choice of accommodation. It was all well up to standard"

Lake District North West. May 2016 by Deborah & John from Victoria, BC

"It was nice to contact the owners directly before booking and receive an honest review of the tours, which helped us choose the right trek for us. We also appreciated Pete meeting us on our first night with suggestions for our tour and local advice."

Lake District North West. May 2016 by Isobel from London

"Really appreciated thoughtful and well written walk options. Looking forward to your recommendation for next year!"

Hadrian's Wall. May 2016 by Rosalind and Doreen from Solihull (to the question, 'Would you book with Wandering Aengus Treks again?')

"Without a doubt – wonderful company – so organised and helpful when booking and the detail was first class. Accommodation great and perfect locations as well. Amazing experience and as they say We'll be back!!!!"

Lake District North East. May 2016 by Ivar and Sverre from Trondheim, Norway

"We are very satisfied with everything: the information before arrival, the information on arrival in Keswick and meeting Pete at Greystones, the accommodation and hospitality, and the beautiful Lake District".

Lake District South Circuit. May 2016 by Gaby from Wivenhoe, Essex

" I am just writing this (in the car on the way home!) to say thank you for organising such a brilliant and beautifully organised trip. We were all so impressed with each hotel and everything ran like clockwork. Everyone was so welcoming. Our information packs were beautifully put together and so well thought out and the walks were different everyday. We recommended your company to all people we met along the way ( but most of the time we had the fells to ourselves) We are reluctantly heading home but will certainly book another! Thank you again."

Reivers Way. May 2016 by Ann and Sally from Cambridge (to the question, 'Would you book with Wandering Aengus Treks again?')

"A whole hearted yes! We hope to come back to you next year for the Ravenber Way"

Lake District North West. May 2016 by Catherine from London

"We are all very impressed by your attention to detail and standard of information provided overall. With your pack in hand we were well-supported and able to concentrate on our walking holiday without worrying about the arrangements. Thank you."

Cumbria Way. April 2016 by Sandra, Nicky and Lesley from Huntingdon

"The information provided from Wandering Aengus was excellent, including the diversionary routes owing to the December floods. Although I realise you have no control over this element – the waymarking on the route was very poor, in some cases incorrect or just missing completely and on arrival in Carlisle there was no marker on the cross on the Market Square to say that you had completed the Cumbrian Way. Thank you once again for a wonderful holiday - we had a really memorable time together with lots of challenges for all! I am sure we will be contacting you again!"

Lakeland Walker. April 2016 by Richard and Ann from Stoke Gifford, Bristol

"Walks tailored very well to capabilities. Continued the second walk down to the water and caught the boat back. Being dropped off at the furthest point and walking back to base worked extremely well."

Cleveland Way. 2015 by Marily from Pittsburgh, PA

"Karen and Pete booked good quality accommodation and baggage transfer for our 9-day Cleveland Way trip. The trip went like clockwork – all logistics were handled exceptionally well – leaving us to enjoy our walks on the moors and by the sea. Karen even rebooked us into an alternate lodging for one night when she learned one of our lodgings was to have live music playing late. We were thrilled to get that kind of personal care from Wandering Aengus".

Hadrian's Wall. 2015 by Robert from Bracknell

"What can I say. Craig and I really enjoyed our week doing Hadrian's Wall. Everything went very smoothly thanks to your help. As I have said on the attached feedback form one excellent tip that we picked up on was that some people stayed for 2 nights in Carlisle and got the bus to Bowness and walked back which put them in Carlisle early on the travel day. Unfortunately we forgot to get Craig a T shirt but will pick one up from somewhere. I suspect that we will be coming back to you in a couple of years to sort out another walk for us. Again, many thanks for taking the strain".

Lake District North West. 2015 by John & Marcia from Volcano, Hawaii

"We appreciate the choice of routes with a shorter, easier one and a more challenging option I am sure the longer options are magnificent, but being of a certain age, we took the easier route each time. Other walking holidays have longer days, typically 10-12 miles or even more, with little choice to shorten them. This would have been too much for us. I was so happy to find Wandering Aengus".

Cumbria Way. 2015 by Doerthe and Anette from Croft, Cheshire

"Excellent – sometimes there was a distinct lack of signs, so the descriptions were very useful, and your little ‘cards' for the accommodation were also great."

Coast to Coast. 2015 by Gladys, Fiona, Sally, Cathy, Wilma, Irene, and Fiona from Aberdeen (to the question, 'Would you book with Wandering Aengus Treks again?')

"Yes we would and will also recommend you to any friends who are considering doing something similar. This was a more challenging walk than we had anticipated but very satisfying. It was good to use the book in conjunction with the map as there are some areas with limited waymarks"

Lake District South. 2015 by Philip from Dartford, Kent

"Thank you for an excellent holiday. All the accommodation was clean comfortably and well furnished. We all said how nice it was to try different types of accommodation each night. All the arrangements from start to finish could not have been better. I work in a customer facing industry were customers have to be extremely satisfied and I have to say using your company for the first time I am EXTREMLY SATISFIED".

Cleveland Way. 2015 by Ran from Tel Aviv, Israel

"We would like to thank you for your help in planning and booking our holiday, which was a total success, full of pleasurable walks in outstanding surroundings. Even the weather proved to have been on our side - not a single drop of rain while walking and, the only really cool and grey day was when crossing the moors, which only added to the atmosphere! Special thanks for all the e-mailing while preparing for the holiday, for your help and patience.