What our customers say

All our customers are invited to post a review and we publish them all, good or bad, so you can get a realistic picture of the holiday and our services.

Reviews posted in 2017: 17

Excellent: 16

Good: 1

Average: 0

Poor: 0

Unsatisfactory: 0


Dales High Way. September 2017 by Mark from Hinkley

A gem of a walk

"As your website rightly describes it “a gem of a walk” apart from a small distance around Addingham a great walk through varied and beautiful scenery. All accommodation was good and the baggage transfer worked perfectly. As I had never been there before the Howgill Fells were a revelation and a contrast to the more familiar dales."


Laleland Walker. August 2017 by Mariette from Dubai

Wonderful three day stress free walking experience in the Lake District.

"This was our first time hiking in the Lake District. Pete and Karen were able to coordinate a perfect three day hiking ittinerary for us meeting our exact requirements and also including some interesting historical sights as I had requested. The accommodation was wonderful and the walking maps and additional local information was very helpful."


Hadrian's Wall. August 2017 by Jonathan and Ian from Wincle Cheshire and Victoria BC, Canada

Excellent walk with some more gruelling bits but all together a very rewarding experience with stunning scenery.

"Very well organised by WA even down to the weather! We thought the Carlisle to Bowness might have been a disappointment but in fact it was very interesting and included a coffee in the village hall in Beaumont as well as tours of the churches built with Wall stones. If you like a medium length satisfying walk with Roman engineering to marvel at then choose this one, organised by Wandering Aengus of course."


Scafell & Catbells. July 2017 by Amy from London

Fantastic!

"This was a great trip. We stayed in the most beautiful guest house with a super-tasty breakfast. The attention to detail and organisation from Wandering Aengus was excellent. We'll definitely be coming back. Thank you, Amy and Andy"


Pennine Way. July 2017 by Judy from Victoria

We have used Wandering Aengus before and found the attention to detail very reassuring.

"Longer days than anticipated on a couple of days in particular we were finding some of the paths rocky and unstable thus it took longer to complete that section. Eg Cam high road. Views however were worth it!"


Hadrian's Wall walk. July 2017 by Ian from Warton

A great well planned walk despite the weather. Wandering Aengus again.

"No problems throughout the walk, B & B's were very good and bag transfer was excellent. Would use again."


Lake District West. July 2017 by Gavin and Catherine from Calgary, Alberta

Wonderful

"The tour was well thought out and organized by Pete and Karen. The Info packages were excellent. Loved it."


Lake District North. July 2017 by Rich from New Sharon, Maine

My wife and I had a wonderful holiday

"Great accommodations, plenty of route options each day and great customer service. Thanks for everything."


Hadrian's Wall. July 2017 by Sharon from York

A wonderful experience even more enjoyable as we did it with friends from Wales

"Very well planned and organised by Karen and Pete at Wandering Aengus. They made a few changes where needed and nothing was too much trouble. We would definitely use them again in the future and recommend to friends."


Pennine Journey (Settle to Hexham). June 2017 by Marion,Jess,Margaret,Jane from Hitchin

Excellent stress free holiday, everything taken care of by WA

"Wandering Aengus were happy to incorporate an extra couple of days for us, to even out the daily mileage. This enabled us to take our time and really appreciate the stunning countryside."


Pennine Journey. June 2017 by Sue Gordon from Jamaica

Hard, but very enjoyable

"The attention to detailwas impeccable. The laminated accommodation information and maps/directions was exceptional. The standard of accommodation, particularly Westgate Hall and Shepherds Croft was excellent. I would definately recommend Wandering Aengus Treks."


Hadrian's Wall. June 2017 by Deborah, Gail and Roberta from Hawaii

Great accommodations organized by Wandering Aengus

"Fabulous weather and scenery for the whole trip. The maps to accommodations did not seem particularly useful, but we used our phone's gps and everything worked out great. Loved Aydon's Castle--it was worth walking the extra miles."


Wainwright Memorial Walk. June 2017 by Sue from Ireland

Awesome!

"Huge thanks to Wandering Aengus for organising my trip. I will definitely use them again. No problems whatsoever. I had a great walk - just sad its over."


Heart of the Lakes. June 2017 by CJ from Australia

Brilliant experience in a sterling location

"I throroughly enjoyed my trip and had great support from Pete tracking down my bag after another company decided to pick it up as an extra after it had been delivered to my destination. I would easily recommend Wandering Aengus treks to others and wouldn't hesitate to use them again for another trip myself."


Lake District North. June 2017 by Erin from California

Fabulous first time experience with Lake walking

"I am very grateful to Karen and Pete for organizing such a great experience. There was great attention to detail and everything was pretty much perfect, with excellent communication and organization. The hiking was challenging in parts, but extremely rewarding and beautiful. I would definitely use Wandering Aengus again and do hope I can make it back to the lakes again soon."


Hadrian's Wall. May 2017 by Jill from West Midlands

Brilliant.

"So well organised, amazing accommodation, so despite the difficult weather, it was great"


Hadrian's Wall. April 2017 by Jane from Sutton Coldfield

A stress free and thoroughly enjoyable week.

"Everything ran like clockwork. The information provided was excellent and we really enjoyed the interesting variety of accomodation. Many people we spoke to recommended doing the walk West to East, but we enjoyed finishing in Bowness, despite the more limited travel options and unfavourable wind direction!"



Comments from Wandering Aengus Treks customers in 2015/16

Hadrian’s Wall. September 2016 by Juliet from Didsbury

“Thanks for your help in providing us with a really enjoyable and memorable holiday. I've already recommended you to someone who may book with you next year.”

Coast to Coast path. September 2016 by Joe & Deirdre from Leigh

“We had a great time though the wind on Kidsty Pike knocked Deirdre over a couple of times and the horizontal rain was too much for our waterproofs. One of the best parts of the holiday was meeting the same people each day/at the end of each day and comparing notes! Karen was most helpful in the preparation and all the supplies were useful.”

Ravenber Way. September 2016 by Charles from Deer Isle, Maine

“The Ravenber Way is not for a first time long distance walker. Over half of the route consists of a knitting together of public footpaths, often through countryside, moor and forest where the track is ill defined or invisible. Of all the walks we have done, this had the least people. Many days on the moors and in forests we saw only 1-2 people all day. The solitude amidst the beauty of the countryside is amazing, considering the walk is in such a populous nation.”

Pennine Way. August 2016 by Mark from Hinkley

“From your almost immediate answer to my initial enquiry WA provided everything I needed to complete my attempt at the Pennine Way Communications with WA was easy and you provided regular updates when any changes occurred.”

Tour of the Lake District. August 2016 by Ann from Windermere, Florida

“What a wonderful trip! You guys did a great job and the hiking was so beautiful, the food excellent and the hotels charming. Great choices!”

Cumbria Way. July 2016 by Sophie & Ruben from Antwerp

"Just a quick note to let you know that Ruben and I were very happy about our trip. We really had a wonderful time! Thank you very much for everything!"

Dales Way. July 2016 by Andrew & Pauline from Epsom

"Great holiday. Your attention to details (laminated accommodation and diversion details) great, the ease of contact, lack of any hassle and total package brilliant. Would both use and recommend your services any time on any walk (with or without dog)"

Pennine Journey. June 2016 by Marion, Jess, Jane and Margaret from Hitchin

"Very efficient from quote to information pack. Thank you for all your assistance during the walk. Will most definitely use you again."

Ravenber Way. June 2016 by Peter & Clare from Westbury

"We have been very impressed with your overall efficiency from the very beginning, in particular with your choice of accommodation. It was all well up to standard"

Lake District North West. May 2016 by Deborah & John from Victoria, BC

"It was nice to contact the owners directly before booking and receive an honest review of the tours, which helped us choose the right trek for us. We also appreciated Pete meeting us on our first night with suggestions for our tour and local advice."

Lake District North West. May 2016 by Isobel from London

"Really appreciated thoughtful and well written walk options. Looking forward to your recommendation for next year!"

Hadrian's Wall. May 2016 by Rosalind and Doreen from Solihull (to the question, 'Would you book with Wandering Aengus Treks again?')

"Without a doubt – wonderful company – so organised and helpful when booking and the detail was first class. Accommodation great and perfect locations as well. Amazing experience and as they say We'll be back!!!!"

Lake District North East. May 2016 by Ivar and Sverre from Trondheim, Norway

"We are very satisfied with everything: the information before arrival, the information on arrival in Keswick and meeting Pete at Greystones, the accommodation and hospitality, and the beautiful Lake District".

Lake District South Circuit. May 2016 by Gaby from Wivenhoe, Essex

" I am just writing this (in the car on the way home!) to say thank you for organising such a brilliant and beautifully organised trip. We were all so impressed with each hotel and everything ran like clockwork. Everyone was so welcoming. Our information packs were beautifully put together and so well thought out and the walks were different everyday. We recommended your company to all people we met along the way ( but most of the time we had the fells to ourselves) We are reluctantly heading home but will certainly book another! Thank you again."

Reivers Way. May 2016 by Ann and Sally from Cambridge (to the question, 'Would you book with Wandering Aengus Treks again?')

"A whole hearted yes! We hope to come back to you next year for the Ravenber Way"

Lake District North West. May 2016 by Catherine from London

"We are all very impressed by your attention to detail and standard of information provided overall. With your pack in hand we were well-supported and able to concentrate on our walking holiday without worrying about the arrangements. Thank you."

Cumbria Way. April 2016 by Sandra, Nicky and Lesley from Huntingdon

"The information provided from Wandering Aengus was excellent, including the diversionary routes owing to the December floods. Although I realise you have no control over this element – the waymarking on the route was very poor, in some cases incorrect or just missing completely and on arrival in Carlisle there was no marker on the cross on the Market Square to say that you had completed the Cumbrian Way. Thank you once again for a wonderful holiday - we had a really memorable time together with lots of challenges for all! I am sure we will be contacting you again!"

Lakeland Walker. April 2016 by Richard and Ann from Stoke Gifford, Bristol

"Walks tailored very well to capabilities. Continued the second walk down to the water and caught the boat back. Being dropped off at the furthest point and walking back to base worked extremely well."

Cleveland Way. 2015 by Marily from Pittsburgh, PA

"Karen and Pete booked good quality accommodation and baggage transfer for our 9-day Cleveland Way trip. The trip went like clockwork – all logistics were handled exceptionally well – leaving us to enjoy our walks on the moors and by the sea. Karen even rebooked us into an alternate lodging for one night when she learned one of our lodgings was to have live music playing late. We were thrilled to get that kind of personal care from Wandering Aengus".

Hadrian's Wall. 2015 by Robert from Bracknell

"What can I say. Craig and I really enjoyed our week doing Hadrian's Wall. Everything went very smoothly thanks to your help. As I have said on the attached feedback form one excellent tip that we picked up on was that some people stayed for 2 nights in Carlisle and got the bus to Bowness and walked back which put them in Carlisle early on the travel day. Unfortunately we forgot to get Craig a T shirt but will pick one up from somewhere. I suspect that we will be coming back to you in a couple of years to sort out another walk for us. Again, many thanks for taking the strain".

Lake District North West. 2015 by John & Marcia from Volcano, Hawaii

"We appreciate the choice of routes with a shorter, easier one and a more challenging option I am sure the longer options are magnificent, but being of a certain age, we took the easier route each time. Other walking holidays have longer days, typically 10-12 miles or even more, with little choice to shorten them. This would have been too much for us. I was so happy to find Wandering Aengus".

Cumbria Way. 2015 by Doerthe and Anette from Croft, Cheshire

"Excellent – sometimes there was a distinct lack of signs, so the descriptions were very useful, and your little ‘cards' for the accommodation were also great."

Coast to Coast. 2015 by Gladys, Fiona, Sally, Cathy, Wilma, Irene, and Fiona from Aberdeen (to the question, 'Would you book with Wandering Aengus Treks again?')

"Yes we would and will also recommend you to any friends who are considering doing something similar. This was a more challenging walk than we had anticipated but very satisfying. It was good to use the book in conjunction with the map as there are some areas with limited waymarks"

Lake District South. 2015 by Philip from Dartford, Kent

"Thank you for an excellent holiday. All the accommodation was clean comfortably and well furnished. We all said how nice it was to try different types of accommodation each night. All the arrangements from start to finish could not have been better. I work in a customer facing industry were customers have to be extremely satisfied and I have to say using your company for the first time I am EXTREMLY SATISFIED".

Cleveland Way. 2015 by Ran from Tel Aviv, Israel

"We would like to thank you for your help in planning and booking our holiday, which was a total success, full of pleasurable walks in outstanding surroundings. Even the weather proved to have been on our side - not a single drop of rain while walking and, the only really cool and grey day was when crossing the moors, which only added to the atmosphere! Special thanks for all the e-mailing while preparing for the holiday, for your help and patience.